CompTIA Certification Guide: Overview and Career Paths

Today, CompTIA offers IT professionals some of the most recognized access level certificates, incorporating with the credentials of A+, Network+ and Security+. However, CompTIA isinternationally known as a non-profit organization consisting of over 2500 subsidiaries and 3500 companies. As the organization focuses on training and certifying IT professionals, CompTIA also has a prominent place in public policy. However, the industry of information technology needs skilled people working in this field with the digital transformation wave, especially in the areas of cloud computing, server virtualization and network security. Among many, one of the most crucial benefits of CompTIA certification is that they are designed to enhance the career by helping a person to gain knowledge in all of these areas. 

CompTIA Certification Program Overview

CompTIA certifications are advanced, and they initiate at the entry-level and reach the advanced and more innovative levels. One of the most well-known CompTIA certification programs in the IT sector, it has issued over 2 million certificates in the past 20 years. Currently, CompTIA certificates are available in 3 following levels:

  • Fundamental-level
  • Professional-level
  • Master-level

Even though the Basic and Master courses now offer only one certification, the Professional series of CompTIA includes nine global certifications that could help the IT professionals in order to gain the access to various areas of computer science in the future, including computer science along with security, networking, cloud computing, server and Linux server, project management and many more.

CompTIA IT Fundamentals

CompTIA IT Fundamentals is considering as the only certification in the Foundation category, which is ideal for the beginners with basic computing capabilities and compatibility as well as technical knowledge for example hardware basics, software installation, safety and security risks, basic security and networks. 

CompTIA Professional Certifications

The professional CompTIA certifications are intended for the IT experts seeking specific processes of IT, for instance, networking, security, mobility, project management or storage support. However, the three most popular CompTIA credentials incorporate with A+, Network+ and Security+ certifications, by falling into this category along with Linux+, Cloud+ and Linux + certificates. Following is the closer look of CompTIA certification:

CompTIA A+

CompTIA A+ certification has been described as the corridors of a computer technician, not without reason, this certification is for individuals seeking a career in customer service, service centre, or technology. However, these include computer hardware and laptops, software installation and mobile operating system settings. Though, the assessment of A+ also tests candidates the understanding of networking, troubleshooting, and security as a starting point for the CompTIA network or security certifications, or those obtainable by other establishments.

CompTIA Network+

Numerous professionals in the IT industry start a career with CompTIA A+ certification. On the other hand, if a person has an experience and does not assume the need of A+, one can go straight to the CompTIA Network+ certification, designed for professionals with at least 1 year of network experience. Thus the applicant must be familiar with network technology, topology, security, installation as well asformation. Network+ references are ISO-17024 compliant and, like A+, approved by the US Department of Defense. Only one exam, N-10-006 is required to authorize.You can enroll in training provided by QuickStart Technologies for CompTIA Network+ Certification and get prepared for the exam.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ certificationintegrates the concepts of network security, threats and vulnerabilities, access controls, self-management, encryption and more. Even though CompTIA does not require any prerequisites for this credential, the organization recommends that certification candidates receive Network+ referrals and at least 2 years of IT security experience. In order to gain CompTIA Security+ certification, applicants must pass the assessment of SY0-401.

CompTIA Linux+

CompTIA Linux+ is supposed to use through the certification of LPI that is designed for the Linux servers with at least 1 year of experience in Linux management, comprisingwith installation, package management, G.N.U and Unix-commands, scripts, security, and much more. CompTIA A+ certification and CompTIA Network+ certification both are recommended but not required to qualify for this credential.

CompTIA Cloud+

Since the market of cloud computing continues to grow, the certification of CompTIA Cloud+ will continue to grow. However, themain aim of this certification is intended to design for IT professionals with at least 2 to 3 years of experience in loading, interacting and management of data, and this assessment tests the knowledge of applicant regarding cloud, resource administration, continuity technologies, and generic server virtualization technology.

CompTIA Master Certification

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)

The CASP certification covered the only master’s degree which is currently accessible from CompTIA, though this certification is intended for the experienced information security professionals who design, project and deploy security solutions in a business environment. Even though no special criteria is supposed to be required for this certificate, however, it is not bad to get CompTIA Network+ certification and CompTIA Security+ certification before passing the examination of CASP. Though a person must also have 10 years’ experienceof IT management and at least 5 years’ experienceof technical security, so this counts up as a master certificate.

Related Jobs and Careers

The certification of CompTIA does not focus on one skill, such as networking or virtualization. CompTIA owners can be supposed to play different roles based on their experience, skill level and interest. Here are some examples of jobs that CompTIA holders can have:

  • A+: Generally, the holders of A+ find work in subsidiary roles, such as support managers, support technicians, or support professionals.
  • Network+: Such professionals work principally in-network roles, for instance, network professionals, administrators, or support professionals. However, certificate holders can also work as network engineers, field technicians or software for Internet services.
  • Security+: It involves multiple tasks such as network, system or security administrators, security agents, experts or security supervisors and specialists.
  • Linux+: The professionals of Linux often work on features for example database servers of Linux, member of staff, or developers.
  • Cloud+: The credentials of Cloud+ typically work as cloud specialists, developers or system and network administrators. Essentials cloud professionals typically work in areas related to cloud sales technology or business development.
  • CASP: The holders of CASP typically include internet security specialists, Info-Sec specialists, experts of information security specialists, and safety engineers.